Building a playhouse - first the base

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning all,
My current project is to build a playhouse for our 2 girls. I've looked around the net for flat packed deliveries - some look really good, but on closer inspection appear to be made of cardboard. Internal frames built using 2x1 (at the most!), flimsy roofing etc etc. I am not a carpenter by trade, but am pretty handy with most things and think I can have a go at building a playhouse from scratch (refloored the whole house - including stairs, installed decking etc etc, so reasonably competent with wood and tooling).

I have spent a good amount of time on google, and searching these forums, and have built up a reasonable base of knowledge on shed building.

Initially, I was planning on building decking, and then placing a flat-pack playhouse on top. I got as far as building the base for the deck before deciding to build my own playhouse. My plan now is to use the bearers as the basis for the playhouse, and then deck around the bottom up to the sides of the shed to finish off the 'setting'.

See the pic of what I've done so far. The area will take a 2100x2400 playhouse. The bearers are pressure treated 2x4 fixed at 550mm centres using 6x100 decking screws. I sat the bearers off the ground using 2x4 and screwed again using the 6x100 screws. These are screwed with 2 directly into the bearers, and one down from the top of the 'posts' at an angle. I intend on putting joists across the bearers in the area where the playhouse will sit to ensure strength. All end cuts have been treat with cuprinol end-cut preserver/sealer.

I paved the area a year or so ago with cheapish flags set on a dry mix of sand/cement. They aren’t the most even in the world and are riven, but are very solid with no movement.

A couple of questions at this point please: