Building a storage cupboard (i hope)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am thinking off making a storage cupboard for the kitchen that is built across the wall, it will be 60 inches in length and 78 inches high, as i am a beginner in woodwork can anyone please tell me is it a good idea to build a frame and basically just build around it???? Any help is very much appreciated.

Sarah

Sponsored Links
Sarah - is your cupboard going to be a single unit hung on the wall, or is the weight going to be on the floor, 'cos what you are describing is going to be a bit of a beast. How deep (front to back) will it? What will it contain (weight)? How many doors, hinged or sliding? Number of shelves? If being hung on the wall, how strong is the wall construction?

Two methods of making: your frame idea, or made from sheet material. Framed and then clad in thinish sheeting is likely to be lighter in weight than one made just from sheet material (which would have to be thicker to accommodate construction methods). Generally, a cupboard made from sheet material only (MDF for example), using screws and other 'knock-down fitting', is usually more straight forward to make. The hard part is getting the sheeting accurately cut to size, usually this can be done at the timber yard where you buy the material.

Let us have a bit more info then better advice can be offered.

Hello Symptons, thxs for the reply,

I want to build it off the floor by about 6" and it will be built against a solid brick wall, i only want it about 7" deep so i can store tins of food etc. I am going to do hinged doors and will have to make 3 doors as if i done 2 doors it will be too much of a opening space i need, as u know!! sorry for the lack info but i hope this has helped and thxs for your interest and help :D

Sarah