Cable entry into Consumer unit

Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
21,014
Reaction score
2,232
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, but not Eaton/MEM. And the lighting busbars are on the unprotected busbar direct from the main switch.
Would be worth seeing a pic of the whole thing. Even better to see inside.
 
Joined
30 Mar 2015
Messages
3,336
Reaction score
47
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, but not Eaton/MEM. And the lighting busbars are on the unprotected busbar direct from the main switch.
Would be worth seeing a pic of the whole thing. Even better to see inside.
Here you go
 

Attachments

  • 24F63594-1AFB-44D8-9E94-2F967AE98B3F.jpeg
    24F63594-1AFB-44D8-9E94-2F967AE98B3F.jpeg
    64.9 KB · Views: 23
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,514
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
That is exactly how my Square D was designed:
What you describe/illustrate appears to be one of the variants of how a 'high integrity' CU can be configured. However, if that's what the OP has, it would still presumably be the case that, as TTC suggested, the two lighting circuits would be without RCD protection.

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
6,485
Reaction score
532
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
What you describe/illustrate appears to be one of the variants of how a 'high integrity' CU can be configured. However, if that's what the OP has, it would still presumably be the case that, as TTC suggested, the two lighting circuits would be without RCD protection.

Kind Regards, John
Yes but let's not forget lighting circuits were amongst the last to require RCD protection, no idea of correct date.

Those boards were being fitted in Bush House refit, BBC left in 2012 so as recently as 2013/14.
 
Joined
28 Mar 2004
Messages
9,852
Reaction score
439
Country
United Kingdom
I'm pretty sure it was the 17th edition that introduced the RCD protection requirements for concealed cables, that in practice required most domestic circuits to be RCD protected.

Some time later (think it may have been the 18th edition) they introduced a specific requirement for RCD protection of domestic lighting circuits, but it was largely academic, most domestic lighting circuits would have required RCD protection already under the concealed cables rules.

Bush house seems to be an office building, if it was wired in conduit/trunking as seems to be quite common in office buildings then afaict even today there would be no need for RCD protection on it's lighting circuits.
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,514
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Yes but let's not forget lighting circuits were amongst the last to require RCD protection, no idea of correct date.
I think that started with the initial version of 18th, in 2018. However, as plugwash has observed, the requirement for RCD protection of buried cables (almost inevitable in any lighting installation, given switches) was earlier than that.

However, I think what we are probably all agreed about is that, unless it was installed by a total clown, that CU was installed an awful lot more than 4 years ago - so who knows what regs applied at the time?!

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
30 Mar 2015
Messages
3,336
Reaction score
47
Country
United Kingdom
Well, there could theoretically be two RCDs if both were connected to the main switch by cables (as in a 'high integrity' CU), rather than one being connected via a little busbar - but, as you imply, only an idiot would "do it like that" :)

Kind Regards, John
Presumably this would require three separate neutral bars?
 
Joined
30 Mar 2015
Messages
3,336
Reaction score
47
Country
United Kingdom

Attachments

  • 59231779-6269-4D08-AB95-83911FFD3380.jpeg
    59231779-6269-4D08-AB95-83911FFD3380.jpeg
    175.6 KB · Views: 16
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
38,454
Reaction score
4,676
Location
Retired to:
Country
Portugal
That is an RCCB - a Residual Current Circuit Breaker - which is an RCD - a Residual Current Device - as are RCBOs - a Residual Current Circuit Breaker with Overload protection.
 
Joined
30 Mar 2015
Messages
3,336
Reaction score
47
Country
United Kingdom
I’ve seen some garage CU’s that only have an RCD (and some MCB’s). There’s no main switch.
In that situation, the RCD is ostensibly the main switch?
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,514
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Presumably this would require three separate neutral bars?
Indeed - and that's what 'high integrity' CUs have. There has to be a neutral bar for circuits protected by each RCD and a neutral bar for circuits not protected by any RCD - so, yes, if there are two RCDs and also some non-RCD (maybe individually RCBO-protected circuits, then there needs to be three neutral bars (which, as said, is what 'high integrity' CUs have.

Kind Regards, John
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top