Can I plumb a Wood Stove (internal back boiler) to C/Heat

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I imagine this isn't a simple as it sounds with modern boilers, what I am looking to do is plumb in a Wood Burning Stove with an internal back boiler to a standard gravity fed gas central heating system so the stove also heats the CH fluid sharing the rads around the house with the gas boiler. The gas boiler is a Worcester 14/19cbi open gravity feed with Honeywell Smartfit controls.

Where and how would you plumb it into the loop? I'm no expert but I've fitted my own Combi System so have a good DIY plumbing knowledge. Problems which come to mind (but may not even be problems) are

if plumbed in before the boiler will it shut the boiler down if the CH fluid gets too hot after the stove?

if plumbed in after the boiler but using the existing pump how do I get round water not circulating when the boiler and pump aren't on demand... will the back boiler boil the CH fluid causing vapour blocks etc?

or can I simply add an extra manually switched pump just for the stove heated fluid and circulate going into the main loop after the boiler, having the pump on the return before it goes back into the main loop (again after the boiler) if that makes sense?

Any advice would be very gratefully received.

Sponsored Links
There are several issues to contend with and the recommendation would be to get an experienced engineer to visit and advise how its best done.

The big potential problem is to stop the stove output circulating through the CH boiler.

Some will recommend a Dunsley neutraliser although the same effect can be obtained with simulated pipework.

Another method is to put a non return valve on the boiler return and use a pump and a non return valve on the return to the stove. Then power the stove pump from a thermostat on its flow pipe.