can I use 4"x2" for deck frame?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I'm currently preparing to build a 3m x 5m deck with a cat walk from the rear of the house to the deck which will be situated at the rear of the garden.Most of the forums advise using 6"x2" for the frame which provides me with a problem, where the deck falls there is exsisiting paving covering much of the area of the new deck and I only have 5" between floor and deck board level i'm using 19mm x 90mm Balau boards. My question is can I use 4"x2" for the frame or should I remove some of the paving and use 6"x2"? My level is set by the step at the back of the house and I can go no higher (unless I incorperate a step somewhere). I look forward to your replies. :eek:

Sponsored Links
i'm not a pro, so don't know the answer to your question. But a couple of things to think about... if you had a party on the decking, you could have 12 x 16 stone blokes stood on it... 6 x 2 would hold up better in that case.

However, if you had your supports closer together, would that increase the load it could carry? taking that to extremes, if you had a piece of 4 x 2 supported an inch apart, how much load would you need to break the timber?

most timber frame buildings dont even use 4" planks between floors and they are set at 400mm centers so i would say 4x2 would be fine as long as the spacing is kept to a short distance, just make sure that its pressure treated if its in contact with the ground

Sponsored Links
sorry, the joists i meant, reading this now has got me thinking of which way up the 4x2 timbers are going to be for his decking, if it was 4" then i would have written what i did. if the deck was 2" high then i probably wouldn't have

Thanks for the replies,