carpet and skirting board painting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Diy newbie here.

I am looking to refresh all the woodwork in the bedroom and the skirting board might prove challenging as per carpet. Is that lift the carpet? Would I be able to put it back safely?

when I had a quick look, it seems that the carpet is pretty sticking to the floor... :(

Many thanks,

Attachments

• 20200613_193404_resized.jpg
    20200613_193404_resized.jpg
    399 KB · Views: 300
  • 20200613_193410_resized.jpg
    20200613_193410_resized.jpg
    439.5 KB · Views: 261
  • 20200613_193514_resized.jpg
    20200613_193514_resized.jpg
    512.5 KB · Views: 376
  • 20200613_193536_resized.jpg
    20200613_193536_resized.jpg
    451.3 KB · Views: 272
Sponsored Links
The carpet looks normal, i.e. it is kept in place by gripper rods. They are wooden strips running next to the skirting boards that have pins sticking up and pointing toward the shirting. After trimming the carpet to fit, the carpet layer uses a carpet kicker to stretch the carpet. The gripper rods old the carpet in place and then the fitter uses a wide carpet chisel to tuck the carpet in to the gap between the gripper rod and skirting.

If you lift the carpet off the gripper rods you may find that you need to use a carpet kicker to re-stretch it after redecorating.

I tend to leave the carpet as is and tuck 50mm masking tape in to the gap at the edge of the carpet. I generally use a stiff dusting brush to push the tape down but you can use a filling knife to push it down (taking care not to puncture the tape). When painting, try to minimise any paint build up between the tape and skirting otherwise it will leave a line that is visible once the tape is removed. Any excess can be scraped off with a finger nail though.

Use a crevice nozzle to vacuum the gap before using the tape.