CH on only when HW on!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello There... I'm very new to this board, I only found it today!

I'm also a novice when it comes to plumbing / CH, so please by gentle!!

I hope someone can help me with my problem.(I've searched the site, but cannot find a solution)

My house has a boiler that serves both HW and CH via a fully pumped system (or at least the timer switch is wired for such!), so I can have HW only, CH only or HW+CH on at same time.

The HW has been running throughout summer with no probs, and a couple of days ago I thought about testing the CH as it was getting cold (it has been turned off for about 5 months).

Now, the CH won't work on it's own - the boiler does not come on and the radiators stay cold!
It does work if I switch on the HW as well, but the CH turns off once the HW has reached desired temp (I've got it set on the water tank for 60C). This is inconvenient to say the least!!!

(If I switch on just HW the radiators stay cold)

I've turned all radiator thermostats and the room thermostat up to full with no joy; I've also checked the wiring to the timer but it seems OK - I haven't delved any further!

Anyone have any ideas what the problem can be?

Many thanks for your time

Sponsored Links
I'm sure someone more knowledgable than me will answer, but I have the same thing on my central heating system.

I found the instructions of the timer (it's a Honeywell, can't remember the model number) and it said on gravity systems you have to have the hot water on for the central heating to work, and normally the timer would be supplied with a sticker 'Hot Water + Central Heating' to go over the 'Central Heating' label :rolleyes:

Might not be the case with yours though.

Or better still check that the 3 port valve is not working correctly.
£1 each way stiff spindle at 10/1
£1 each way faulty motor at 8/1
£1 each way microswitch at 7/1 only 3 runners

Sponsored Links
MANDATE said: