CH problem

ESL

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A couple of years back, we had a new Brit Gas CH system fitted and at some time between then and now the CH does not seem to want to work.

We have a standard fully pumped system with hot water storage tank fitted. Programmable time set to weekday/weekend programmes - separate HW and CH. Sunvic SDMV2304 3 port motorised valve.

The problem is that since the summer, I can't seem to get the CH to come on independantly. The HW programme is working OK in that it comes on and goes off when demanded, but the room stat won't activate the system.

I had originally thought it was a fault with the room stat and replaced it with a generic B&Q one, but it still won't fire it up.

At the moment I have took of the valve motor an manually positioned the valve to get the house warm but would appreciate a few pointers.

By no way am I a CH expert, but I am a trained electronics technician and know my way round a circuit diagram and a multimeter. What I dont know is how the system should be wired and what voltages go where to activate the CH when its needed.

A simple circuit diagram of a standard CH/WH system should do it if anyone cam point me in the right direction...

Many thanks for reading this far.

George

Sponsored Links
You've kind of answered the question yourself, if the motorised valve is manually open and it working, it would appear that either the valve body has seized or the motorised head is knackered.

Cheers Sam

Well... not quite. Perhaps I did not make myself clear in the first post, so I'll do it here.

The valve motor "motors" just fine and the valve itself rotates and operates freely.

The problem is that the programmer and valve does not respond to the room stat's demand for CH only.

If I demand HW only - it works.
If I demand CH only it wont.
If I demand CH and HW, 90% of the time I only get HW.

The 90% bit is mad I know, but there it is - sometimes it's OK, most of the time it's not.

OK.