Choosing my strimmer/brush-cutter... shortlist Hyundai Vs Honda

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After discussion about electric options, I've narrowed my selection for a petrol brush-cutter down to:
I have about .5 acres to manage, including a large lawn (120x40 feet) and a lot of trees. I'm new to serious gardening and not particularly handy.

I wanted a 4-stroke particularly as I hate the noise and smell of 2-stroke and the extra work of mixing oil - so Stihl was out of the running but to be honest was really beyond my budget anyway.

Both (the LE and UE are the same product with different handles as far as I can tell) get great reviews. The Honda I've heard people talk about in real life, but the Hyundai seems like a new challenger and gets very favourable comments for the features Vs price.

Shopping around, there seems to be a £100 price difference between them i.e. £185 Vs 285 with advantage Hyundai which is quite substantial. The Hyundai also comes with a bunch of safety gear thrown in which I don't already own, as well as two different toothed heads - a complete package.

The Honda will allow me to attach a hedge-trimmer attachment but given this costs ~£200 I don't really see that as a big plus - and I am not wanting to go the Versatool/Multi-tool route at this time.

I imagine simply as it's established the Honda might get more love here, has anyone tried the Hyundai?

Sponsored Links
Oh also - any comment on the loop VS bike handles for LE/UE Honda variants? They do a bent-shaft one as well but that seems to be a lighter-use model?

Hello d000hg