Conifer Roots

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We live in a first floor flat and there is a conifer tree in the garden of the ground floor flat. The tree is about 7 meters high and about 5 meters from the building.
I hate it as it blocks our view of the road and as many parts of it are brown it looks ugly. Our downstairs neighbours like the tree as it gives them privacy.
Is there any risk of the roots damaging the foundations? I have not idea what sort of root system conifers have.
(Is there any way I can kill the tree next time the neighbours are on holiday?)

Sponsored Links
john4703, good evening.

I take it the tree is within your neighbours Garden? Or is it within a "Shared garden area?"

How close to the Public Footpath is the tree?

Is there any obvious distortion to the ground around the tree, or indeed to any footpaths near the tree?

As or the tree roots in some way affecting the property???

if I come clean here, i work as an Insurance Surveyor, in Scotland, I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of Tree Root Problems I have encounters on one hand in about 17 years [sorry about that] We tend not to have that sort of soil or the tree is less than 2 / 3 m from the Property [or wall??]

As for Poisoning??? I simply cannot comment, indeed it would probably be highly Illegal, but at 0200 AM who is going to know? [ I actually believe it in not legal to undertake what you suggest??]

Ken.

john4703,
if I come clean here, i work as an Insurance Surveyor, in Scotland, I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of Tree Root Problems I have encounters on one hand in about 17 years [sorry about that] We tend not to have that sort of soil or the tree is less than 2 / 3 m from the Property [or wall??]
Ken.