1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

connecting computer to Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Software' started by chezzer0361, 10 May 2009.

  1. chezzer0361

    chezzer0361

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what do I need so I can connect my computer downstairs to the Xbox 360 upstair, so I can play online ??????????

    there is no phone in the room either...............

    Ta

    :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. disinfo

    disinfo

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on your current internet setup.

    Do you have a router? Is it wireless?
     
  3. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,990
    Thanks Received:
    331
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need a long enough cable.

    Although I'd recommend a direct connection to your router rather than internet connection sharing with your PC.

    try the xbox.com site for help setting it up.
     
  4. chezzer0361

    chezzer0361

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a BT Router
     
  5. disinfo

    disinfo

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is your BT router wireless?

    If so you can purchase an Xbox 360 Wifi Adapter such as this;

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Xbox-360-Wireless-Network-Adaptor/dp/B000AYTQ7O

    If not, you just need a long enough CAT5e cable as previously mentioned.

    Also, even if your router is wireless, the CAT5e cable would give you a more stable and reliable connection, its jsut whether you can be bother routing and hiding it properly
     
  6. chezzer0361

    chezzer0361

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    268
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks, I think we can manage hiding the cable - will get one ordered asap

    :cool: :) :D :D :D :D
     
  7. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,990
    Thanks Received:
    331
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Connect up with a ethernet cable (not a crossover or X cable).

    You need to open up some ports in your router.
    Information that is here.

    Xbox live can be obtained from ebay far cheaper than MS.
    Or even here (I got one & it's fine).
    Register on the site before purchasing

    I have forgotten how many hours I have spent having fun on Xbox Live & how much better it is than playing offline against the AI.

    As above, a wired connection and opening up the ports (putting the Xbox in the DMZ even) helps to prevent lag (delays) when playing games.

    Look forward to some fun. :D
     
  8. timmyg2001

    timmyg2001

    Joined:
    8 May 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you don't want to drill/hide the network cable, get some homeplugs. They work off the mains and are fantastic! My xbox connects to my pc in the loft room via these so i can watch all my digital media.

    available from many places but i got mine from www.homeplugs.co.uk

    they are plug and play, no configuration required for connection.
     
Loading...

Share This Page