1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Cooker Solid hotplate element

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by DaveyD, 25 Nov 2019.

  1. DaveyD

    DaveyD

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I need a replacement solid hotplate element.

    My question is, Are all the elements from all cooker manufacturers roughly the same?
    ie can I just pick any 180mm element and it will fit?

    I imagine it would be a standard part, its only got to fit into a hole in the hob. But I don't want to buy one unless I know theres a chance it would fit.

    Thanks for any help/advice
    Dave
     
  2. jj4091

    jj4091

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    4,568
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why can you not look for one specific to your cooker? If you are having trouble finding one then post the make & model of it.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. DaveyD

    DaveyD

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I buy an element specific to my cooker it will cost over £40, its an old cooker so not worth the expense. But there are others out there the same spec and cheaper. The element sits on the hob and is held in by one washer and nut, the same as all the others. So my guess is any element the same diameter and wattage will work.
    I'm looking into buying a cheap one and trying it. I will post back if its a success!!
     
  5. assuhors

    assuhors

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just go for the cheapest same size and wattage. Some of the chrome rims are 4mm and some 8mm but will still fit.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. DaveyD

    DaveyD

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did what you said, went for the cheapest, same size and wattage.
    My oven has spade terminals. The universal element has screw terminals. I cut off the spades and screwed the wires into the terminals.

    its works perfectly and saved loads off money.
     
Loading...

Share This Page