Damp Patches

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
DA03E38D-A2C3-43C8-854A-C689E6451EDA.jpeg
0B568AB6-6D9C-4CA6-A2B2-89EDA4B5A769.jpeg
84C74164-77B7-4877-A9FF-3FBFB6E0ACB4.jpeg
35C61EDC-19B2-4C00-8519-7FDFC84066B7.jpeg
Hello, my son has just sent me some photo’s of some damp patches that have appeared in a cupboard under his stairs. It is an outside wall so I asked him to send me some pics of the outside wall too. I’m no expert but the damp patches look like they may be linked to dot & dab? The outside wall has moss going all the way up to the roof and he admitted there has been a small drip for about 18 months coming from the gutter (he thinks). The brickwork at ground level looks a bit ropey and shouldn’t there be an air brick?

Could there be a combination of issues here?

I should add that it’s an old house which had been renovated before they moved in. The back wall is part of the original house (a new extension can just been seen on the left hand side). Also that area where the back wall is, is a small gap between the extension and next door and is never accessed or viewed.

Sponsored Links
You certainly can't allow that amount of water to run down your wall on a regular basis and not have problems.

Morrissey, good evening.

Several issues, all possibly linked.

1/. From the sheer volume of moss, there is a really good going leak from either the down pipe or the gutter, indeed the gutter may??? be blocked at the entry to the down pipe [ a tennis ball does this job very, very well?? ] blame the kids?

2/. Yes the isolated damp staining internally is dot and dab, but why? do you know if the cavity of the external wall has had retro-filled insulation installed?

3/. A trip out during a rain storm with an umbrella, should locate the leak?? As an aside there is visual evidence of long term water staining on the outside of the plastic rain water down pipe??

Possible remedies.

A/. Find and fix the leak.