Derating cable with insulation?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - hoping someone can help put my mind at rest! I'm about to insulate my suspended timber floor for my lounge from below and wanted to check whether I'd have an issue with the cables. I have limited knowledge on the subject from what I've researched but can't quite figure out whether my existing cables will be an issue or whether I should get them replaced before I insulate.

Essentially the sockets are positioned around the room with the cables going through the floor down into the ceiling of the basement below. Looks to be 2.5mm cables in a ringmain and they've been clipped direct to the wall of the basement. I'll be placing insulation with a depth of 140mm on the underside of my flooring - so wherever a socket is the wiring will run against one side of this for 140mm and in a couple of places the insulation will be above cables that are running through the joists (joists are deeper than insulation so there is room to fit insulation above cables).

From what I gather an Electrician would need to de-rate the circuit to allow for the insulation - would this cause me a problem? and therefore would it be more appropriate to get an electrician in to upgrade the cables before I do the insulation?

Thanks for any help

Dan

Sponsored Links