Do you think there could be asbestos in this plaster?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm new to DIY and yesterday I was removing wallpaper in a bedroom which I plan to paint but some of the plaster has come off when I was removing the wallpaper. The property was built in the early 70's and has been redecorated a few times since then but I believe the plaster itself is quite old which is what is worrying me after researching asbestos in older building materials. I have no idea about what type of plaster it is but maybe you guys can enlighten me.

I am now very worried and have gotten myself quite worked up :(

Do you think I am overreacting or should I have an asbestos test done?

Thanks,

Antony

Attachments

• plaster 3.jpg
    plaster 3.jpg
    86.7 KB · Views: 302
  • plaster.jpg
    plaster.jpg
    50.2 KB · Views: 330
  • plaster 2.jpg
    plaster 2.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 263
Sponsored Links
It is true that asbestos was common in buildings up until as late as the 80's technically it was finally banned in 1999 but phased out from the 80's.
Having said that it was normally only used for fireproofing, lining boiler cupboards, flue pipe, outside soffits, over integral garages and of course corrugated garage roofs.
There was really no reason to use it in normal plasterwork, as a rule the only time you need to watch out is textured ceilings Artex contained asbestos.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=a...7pLUAhXHB8AKHUkEAZAQ_AUICygC&biw=1760&bih=840

It was needed to bulk up the coating to enable often quite decorative patterns.