Does this look like a lintel?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
UPDATE!! I've reached the brickwork. Great news, there's a lovely arch! Bad news, arch is in a state :-/ what would you do..? New pics in comments below :)

Hello! I'm new to the so please be gentle!
I'm trying to open up our fireplace, but I'm feeling nervous about it. I've taken some of the plaster off, and by the looks of it I think there could be a lintel hiding in there? What should I do next?
I'm pretty good at diy, but never touched anything structural before, so any advice/reassurance would be great! The chimney breast is 130cm wide, how big do you think I can safely open it up?
Thanks in advance!

DSC_0142.JPG
DSC_0145.JPG

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
looks like youve only taken the skim off, theres another layer of plaster to take off
knock that off then post another picture
dont worry to much it will either have a lintel or an arch

Thank you! I thought that might be the case, but didn't dare go any further until I'd checked :)
I'll keep going and update shortly...

Sponsored Links
Thought that might be the case :( I was hoping to get away with something like the link below, but I'm not sure it's in good enough condition to get away with it.
Off to get my Google on and look up installing a lintel - any advice before I do? Other than get a builder to do it! ;)
Thanks again :)
http://www.diy-extra.co.uk/spanning-openings-brick.html

its right what that website says in your link, at the most all that might fall is a triangle above where the lintel is going, but very rarely does that happen.
have a go yourself, most of the time you'll get the odd one or two coming loose but more often than not none fall at all.

Brilliant, thank you again! I'll post the outcome :) hopefully it'll all go to plan!

Jackie, if you've got this far, doing the rest shouldn't be beyond you're capabilities. This isn't really what you'd describe as structural, so don't panic too much.