Double plug socket with USB sockets

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I've seen double plug sockets with 2 USB sockets for sale in screw fix, has anyone fitted them? Are the USB sockets some hoe connected to the 3pin sockets or will I need more wires putting in? I'm no electrician but I'm more then capable of changing a socket, but if extra wiring is involved then it won't be worth the expense, hence the question.

Thanks guys

Sponsored Links
There's no additional wiring to do. Just the live neutral and earth wires, exactly the same as your existing socket.

They obviously have a built in power supply that is permanently switched on (using electricity). This power supply will also have capacitors that will wear out sooner being permanently on. No doubt you will be replacing it in a short time.

Not like you to be wrong winston :rolleyes: They do not consume any electricity when they are not charging. I've fitted a few. Customers love them and so far I've had no failures.

Sponsored Links
Not like you to be wrong winston :rolleyes: They do not consume any electricity when they are not charging. I've fitted a few. Customers love them and so far I've had no failures.

They must consume a little bit surely. mW I suppose. Good to know there are no failures though.

They do not consume any electricity when they are not charging.

Do they have a physical switch in them? If not, they must consume electricity.

That said: Being on permanently does not result in a short lifespan.

I'm just wondering about installing these (as part of a final circuit) and then doing an IR test.
It depends on the circuitry, but I would expect to see a false IR reading, or for the thing to die.