Drained CH System down, and now rads are only warm

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Oh Great Knowledgeable Ones.

I am no plumbing expert, but have moved a few few rads in my time without too much trouble. However, this time the job hasn't gone according to plan.

I have got an open system, with a cold water tank and heating expansion tank in the loft, hot water tank in one of the first floor bedrooms, and a Boiler in the kitchen.

I have had to re-route the piping of one of my rads, due to another DIY project.

The rad is on the ground floor, but is fed from above on the same loop as the bedroom radiator above it.

The rad was at the end of a loop, and installed on Isolating valves so it was simple enough to remove it. Unfortunately, I also needed to move the Isolating valves further up the pipes.

I turned off the feed to the expansion tank, and opened the isolating valves to drain the system above the valve.
4 buckets worth of water flowed out before it stopped.

Once the water had stopped flowing, I cut off the pipes and refitted the valves as required.

Then I opened the feed to the expansion tank and expected to bleed the air out of the other rads one by one to allow the system to fill up again.

The problem is that there seems to be no pressure in the system, so when I open the bleed valves on the rads hardly any air comes out.

With the heating on, the bottom 3rd of each rad warms up, but like I said, little or no air comes out when I open the bleed valves.

Help - Am I missing something simple here?

The pump seems to be working OK, and there is plenty of hot water in the tank. The pipe above the pump is nice and hot when the pump is running.

Have I introduced a nice fat air lock into the system, or could I have dislodged a lump of sludge that is now causing a blockage ?

Any advice on what to do next would be greatly appreciated.