draining rads to try and solve prob, but tank still full

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I hope someone can help.
We found that we had a problem with the radiator upstairs, only the bottom half was getting hot on most and two were not getting hot at all. Radiators downstairs were working OK.
After spending a few hours trying to bleed them, we still did not have water in the top of the radiators. I thought that we might have a problem with sludge so I bought some Fernox cleaner.
Then things really got confusing... I'm an electrical engineer, not a plumber, electricity is so much more prodictable!! I found a drain connection next to the pump downstairs, connected a hose to it and opened it up. We got lots of black, thick water out of the system but when I checked the smaller of the two tanks in the loft when the water had stopped, it was still full.
So where do I put the fernox cleaner now!!? Could it be that I have a blockage between the tank and the first radiator? If so, how do I clear it?

Sponsored Links
Thanks Hi-spec for the quick reply... Ive had a look at the piping coming from the tank and from what I can make out (theres very little room up there) the water leaves that tank in 22mm, then reduces to 15mm just before dropping down though the ceiling to the 1st radiator.
These are to two radiators that dont even get warm at the bottom. The pic below is how I think the piping is laid out, but this would mean that the water would have to flow though atleast one of these radiators to raech the others.. could this be right?

Tank%20to%201st%20rad.JPG

not really. your rads should be connected to return pipe work to your boiler.

your tank feed should connect near your pump. in the airing cupboard

Sponsored Links