Drilling a 50mm core hole in stone wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to drill a 50mm hole for a waste pipe through a traditional built stone wall about 75cm (2.5feet)wide.

I have never done this before and am gathering together what I think is needed; dont want to start and then find I have not got the required kit!

I have got a 5kg SDS drill (Power Performance) which I think should just be enough for a one time job. I have got a 50mm core cutter with pilot drill incorperated. So far so good that should get me through the first 10-20cm; then comes the problem, I need an extender to get through the 2.5feet.

Been down to my DIY store and have seen the SDS extenders BUT when I look as to how it assembles there does not seem to be any provision for a pilot drill, the core cutter seems to just seems to sit on the end of the extender, is this correct?

Any advice on doing this would be appreciated; my concern is that last time I put a small hole through with a very long 20mm bit I had a terrible difficulty with the bit sticking. Is it going to be any easier with a core cutter? :confused:

Sponsored Links
Most extension pieces are like a bar with a thread on the end and you simply screw the core cutter onto it.

What you really need is a very deep core cutter otherwise you won't be able to get much depth at a time.

If you've only got a little one (ooer missus) you'll have to stop every few minutes and knock of the core with a very long cold-chisel.

Actually the very first thing to do is to drill a pilot hole right through the wall then use the core cutter from each side until it meets in the middle.

It's gonna be a bit of a fiddle but it can be done.

joe

Thanks Joe, the meathod you propose (ie a pilot hole all the way through and then use the cutter from both side) is how I sort of envisaged doing the job until I started looking into available kit.