Economical, fast and comfortable estate car?????

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all!
I run a petrol Rover 75 2.5 automatic - great car for speed on straight runs and marvellously comfortable (like a limousine), great for taking passengers in style - but not economical, not suitable for taking rubbish to the tip etc., doesn't do bendy country lanes easily and no street cred (despite being over 40 yrs of age). So bought a manual petrol 1.8 Honda Civic VTech hatchback - more economical, actually faster, great on the straight and country lanes, almost an estate car with back seats folded down and a 'wolf in sheep's clothing' for those who don't know them.
The idea was to sell the Rover, but I couldn't bring myself to get rid. I love them both. Plus I couldn't get much money for the Rover - grossly undervalued since the company went bust.
I have been running both cars for a couple of years now - much to the delight of family and friends as I always have a car for them to borrow.
Now I have a new partner with an over large labrador dog and we take regular trips out in one or other of my cars. As he moults incessantly and enjoys rolling in mud (the dog, that is!) or swimming in any water he can find, this is taking its toll on my back seats.
I feel it is now time to get an estate car - but what to get? Naturally I will have to sell the Rover and Honda (and learn not to get so attached to cars). However I do still want comfort and speed and with the cost of fuel the most economical I can find. Preferably under 3 years old and under £8,000.
Does anyone have any ideas?
Sue

Sponsored Links
how fast do you want it to go? speed and economy dont go together.

Oooh! How do I describe the speed I'm looking for; borrowed a 1.8 Rover 75 diesel the other day and found that to be both speedy enough and economical. In fact, I complained to my friend that the fuel gauge wasn't working... but was politely informed that it could do up to 500 miles on half a tank!?!