Enlarging access into loft - easy, or not?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So, I'm an amateur but pretty competent DIYer.

For some crazy, unknown reason, the access to my loft on my landing is big enough to fit your head through ... but that's it. You can't get up there in person.
(No I am not a massive fat bloater ;) )

My question is, how easy would it be to enlarge the access myself? What would I need to do, and would I need any equipment I'm not likely to have? I have the basics (including jigsaw etc.).

Sponsored Links
Is the hatch in a safe, accessible location? (How old is the property?) If not, board it over and cut a new one in a more convenient place.

Allowing for cables and any plumbing, you will have to cut back the joisting and frame up a new carcass - light section joisting will have to be upped to heavier sections, and perhaps run to sit on any nearby bearing wall(s).

google up pre-made loft hatches and their dimensions, and see what suits you - you actually would be best off buying a ready made off the shelf.

During this work: run a permanent light up to the loft (fluorescent?), neon, cord switched from below.

Screw everything - no hammering. Work off a platform if possible, or a 10 or 12 step step-ladder.

Basic eqpt. only requiredd, very DIY'able.

So, I'm an amateur but pretty competent DIYer.

For some crazy, unknown reason, the access to my loft on my landing is big enough to fit your head through ... but that's it. You can't get up there in person.
(No I am not a massive fat bloater ;) )

My question is, how easy would it be to enlarge the access myself? What would I need to do, and would I need any equipment I'm not likely to have? I have the basics (including jigsaw etc.).