External Electrics for a Tortoise Enclosure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I just wondered if anyone could give some advice on running power from my consumer unit to an external Tortoise enclosure? I am a bit of a noob with electrics.

I have a Wylex NHRS6604 unit that is a 12 way split load. Configuration is 6 +6.
Link https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/consumer-units/0424683/
I'll be putting probably 2 x 100W Heat lamps and a couple of UV strip lights on it.

The consumer unit is at the other end of the house, we have external insulation around that stops at around 6" from the ground. I was thinking of coming through the wall and running along the underside of this in some sort of ducting if that's OK to do?

Could anyone advise on what to look out for hazard wise and sort of kit would be most robust for this. Ideally good value but Tortoise comfort > Lowest Cost.

Sponsored Links
s-l96.jpg
mxvTkZTgvlTWzerxujUjskQ.jpg
Be it ready built or self build you will need a temperature controller STC-1000 or Inkbird ITC 308 are the two used by many aquarium user or beer brewer, UK versions are made pictures are to give you an idea what they look like.

Cheers ericmark! I thought they would be a bit pricier but that's not a bad price at all.
It's gonna be a custom build. 3M x 2M x 0.7M raised bed with a half greenhouse/half brick house, various plants, water feature, partially turfed. Meshed lid to cover the whole thing.

All seems a bit unnecessary. A tortoise will hibernate in winter so does not need heat. Will need somewhere to bury itself however.

Sponsored Links
You do not have to run power all the way from the consumer unit. That would be a new circuit and that is notifiable work - needs a registered electrician, really. Your best DIY option is a spur from an existing socket - one that is on the side of the house nearest the enclosure.

How far down the garden is the enclosure? There's other complications if its a distance away...