Filling Cracks near Windows and Doors

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, Just starting to decorate my house. It is about 9 years old and hasn't been decorated from new. There are a few cracks near the windows and doors in a couple of places. I presume these are settling cracks as they are less than 5mm. Just wondered what the best way of filling these gaps? Do I use something like polyfilla or do I need to use something that is flexible. Any help would be much appreciated as I am new to all this. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Use a tube of acrylic decorators caulk, its flexible enough to withstand further movement..dont use powder or ready-mixed 'solid' fillers - they will crack again as sure as bears s*** in woods ;)

oh dear, two conflicting metods of sorting. The acylic decorators caulk? Will this be in my local B&Q and if so, what are the trade names people would recommend for this. What will it be like to paint over this? I am looking at just using a couple of good coats of emulsion on the wall. Will this cover the decorators caulk or will I need something else. If this decorators caulk is flexible will the finish be as good as using polyfila? I can just imagine something be flexible as not as good for finishing, but being a total beginner I have no idea.

Please help

Sponsored Links
The caulk is ideal for smaller guage cracks , for larger use Red Devil 'Onetime' filer , I use it ever day.
As for Polyfilla (sorry Diyisfun) I never touch it - its harder to rub down than most..Polyfilla caulk is OK though
Best to buy a branded caulk from a trade counter (approx £1.20), the diy (Homebase etc.) stuff is a bit thin.. :evil:

The caulk is ideal for smaller guage cracks , for larger use Red Devil 'Onetime' filer , I use it ever day.
As for Polyfilla (sorry Diyisfun) I never touch it - its harder to rub down than most..Polyfilla caulk is OK though