Filling in the gaps in a patio

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

My patio was growing weeds in the gaps between the flags so i've scraped most of the soil and existing sand out. I went to a builders merchant and they advised I buy KILN DRY SAND for refilling the gaps.

My neighbour said I should also mix in cement with the sand so that it hardens. I checked this out online and there seems to be a difference of opinion on this, with some people saying it isn't necessary to add cement.

Im a novice at this kind of DIY so could anyone clarify this for me? The gaps are quite big (about an inch deep) and a centimeter wide.

Many thanks,

Shaun

Sponsored Links
if it is block paving then kiln dried sand is used but for most types of flags a proper mortar joint is used. Sand and cement mixed dampish and then pressed in and struck with a jointer/trowel.

How wide are the gaps?

Thanks for your reply.

The gaps are about 10 - 15 mil. It is flags rather than block paving.

Thanks

Shaun

Shaun

I am suprised they recommended kiln dried sand - not the thing to use for gaps that are that wide!

A question though is are the flags bedded down solidly so they are firm? If so then you would be best actually point them in using mortar.

Just get some ordinary building sand and some cement and mix at something like 5 parts sand to 1 part cement (no water at this stage). If its only a small area you local DIY shed will sell mortar bags which is building sand with a small plastic bag of cement inside it. They are normally a couple of quid each, in which case just mix all the contents of the bag together.

You then add some water - but be very sparing - you are looking to end up with something called a 'dry mix' which has very little water in it, this makes it easier to point up and stops the cement staining the flagstones.