front door in converted flat-advice and options

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I recently bought a flat which is part of a Victorian house that is converted into 3 flats. I plan to rent the flat out, but first I want to do a bit of work on the place before putting it out for rent.

All three flats in the house share the main front door providing access to the building. each flat then has its own separate front door.
The front door to the flat I've bought looks pretty flimsy so I want to replace it with something more secure. The thing is I'm no expert on doors and what the options are.

I want something that is solid and secure but at the same time I'll need something which is fairly easy to change locks on and get replacement keys. (Due to tenants potentially loosing keys and changing tenants)

Can you guys provide any advice or suggestions on what types of door I can consider?

Sponsored Links
Your choices might be limited if it has to be a fire door, others on here might be able to advise further but i would of thought it had to be a half hour FD

Euro cylinder locks are easy to change the cylinder i.e. rekey without having to remove / replace the whole locks.

Not sure if it has to be an FD door to be honest. I'll have to look into that and find out if it is a requirement as it'll be the first rental property I've had.

Sponsored Links
Almost certainly it will be required to be a fire door. Not a problem, It is an indoor door, so does not have to be weatherproof.

Fire doors are also thick and heavy, so good for blotting out noise.

If you must put a letterbox in it, have it as far away as possible from the lock.

i managed to get over to the flat and take another look at the door this weekend ( before the sale completes)

The survey came back as it being a 30 minute resistant fire door which is decent enough.

the door itself is actually not that bad, plus is has one of those banham locks fitted which are quite secure ( but costly to replace lost keys).