Front door won't close.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I'm new to this. But I'm in need of help.

My upvc front door won't close. It catches on the top lock of the door onto the frame. If I put a key in and turn it, it will close. But take the key out, the mechanism falls a little bit, which causes it to catch.

Hope some one can help. I think it needs adjustment, but, being a Sunday, and the front door. I don't want to start taking it apart blind. So, any help would be grateful.

Cheers,
J

Sponsored Links
How old is it?
Is under warranty still?
Also, they like pictures on here, so if you can post one, preferably of the door.lol

Sounds like toe and heal, for now if it has adjustable hinges wind the top one over a bit

Sounds like a worn mechanism to me, claw hooks(if thats what it has) are heavy and on worn mechanisms have a tendancy to flop back down just a bit but enough to catch the frame, some pics would help though

Sponsored Links
I've uploaded a photo into an album. Don't know if you can see it or not.

'God' I've tweaked the grub screws in the hinges already. I'm thinking it might need a new barrel. When the key is in the door, on the inside it works fine. The claw stays back. When you take the key out it drops a little bit, we're talking mm. So it just catches.

Worn mechanism unfortunately, best case scenario is you can just replace the main gearbox in the centre of the door IF the type of mechanism you have allows the seperation of the gearbox from the long strip of metal (the strap), if not then you'll need the whole job lot. This is where it can become tricky, you need to id what make of lock you have, look for any makers name or logo along the long strip, here are some pointers or names to look for...

http://www.dgsupplyline.co.uk/door-hardware/multipoint-door-locks/