Glow Worm Flexicom 30cx F5 then F9 error?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I got a new Flexicom 30CX installed less than a year ago by a plumber who recommended it. It had an F9 error last year but we reset with button on front and it was fine. Now it is coming up as F5 (overheat) and then when you turn it off and turn on again says F9. I phoned the guy that installed it and he said its probably sludge in the system rather than a boiler fault? When he installed the boiler we paid and assumed he had done a full system flush and we paid the extra to have a magnetic cleaner bit added on to collect bits from the system in. I don't know how there could be sludge in the system already? It's not even been a year yet. It is under Glow Worm warranty and they can come round in a couple of days but I have a 6 week old and a 2 and a half year old so need to heat the house. Browsed and heard about a red reset button possibly fixing this but I am not a gas engineer and don't want to make matters worse, plus I can't find red reset button. I can get back the original plumber before Glow Worm can come round but begrudge paying him if it is because he didn't do something properly in the first place? Should I tackle it myself, am I endangering my family to fiddle with it? I don't want to do that but I also want heating. Any help greatly appreciated.
Clive

Sponsored Links
Fitting a magnetic filter is not the end of the job.

It needs to be checked after say a week and then at intervals afterwards according to the amount of dirt in it.

I suggest you look inside and tell us ( photo ? ) how much dirt.

If you did not see him power flush then I don't think that he will have done.

In my view he should be properly cleaning it at no extra charge. That's why the photo of the mag filter is so important.

Its also wrong in my view not to establish a regime for cleaning it at the appropriate intervals.