Gripfill - use & curing time?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I have used my first gripfill in a hole to help secure rawlplugs today......

Can someone please tell me how long it is before it cures hard as it does not say anything about curing/drying time on the tube.

Also, I stuck a nail in the nozzle when I had finished, will I still be able to use the rest of the tube tomorrow?

How much do you put in a drilled hole when putting plugs in also?

IS this stuff like the nonails but better?

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
err... its "gripfill" the general purpose "sticks like poo to a blanket" glue.

Other than that I know nothing, I'm a gripfill newbie :D

can't help then. I use cheaper alternatives which are water based. To keep then fresh in the tube, I clean the nozzle with a wet sponge, and put water in the cap before screwing it on. Amazingly, this keeps an open tube fresh for weeks. The first bit may be a bit wet when you use it again though, but it saves you having to throw away part-used tubes.

I mostly use it in screw-holes. If you wash the dust out with water, the brickwork is moist so it takes hours to set. If you leave dust in the hole, it will stick to the dust not the brick, which is not much good. In screw holes, you put the nozzle deep into the hole so it fills from the back. You need enough so that when you push the plug in, it presses out all round the plug, up to the surface of the wall. Trial and error gives you the hang of it. Smooth it off level with the wall, using a wet finger, or slightly below the surface if you are going to use filler and redecorate

For sticking things to walls, e,g, conduit before plastering, or skirting, I use a nail or clip or wedge to hold them in place while it sets, and come back half an hour later or more. If you are going to use something wet like mortar, plaster or emulsion I leave it longer so it will not be softened. I understand the more expensive stuff is pretty well instant.

Sponsored Links