Heating Controls

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by DaleRCL, 16 Jan 2013.

  1. DaleRCL

    DaleRCL

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, I am working in a flat with communal heating from a large boiler which does the whole block. I currently have 22mm flow and returns in the flat I'm in with isolators so I can work off of them.
    The customers wants a programmable room stat to set on/off times and obviously gauge the temperature.
    I have asked the electricians on site, if I cut in a Honeywell zone valve on the flow will they fit a prog room stat to open and close it accordingly. They have said this is no problem if I can provide them with a wiring diagram.
    Does anyone know, firstly, if what I have suggested is possible and if so, where might I find a wiring diagram for such a set up.
    Forgot to mention, the boiler will be on constant so I will only need the stat to open and close the zone valve, not fire boiler, run pump etc.

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,917
    Thanks Received:
    10,887
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I really dont think you should do this without consulting whoever manages your heating system. This system is known as district heating and some (not all) run at much higher pressures some up to 6 Bar you really should not cut into such a system without knowing all the ins and outs of it.
     
  4. DaleRCL

    DaleRCL

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not cutting into it. I will be putting the zone valve after the isolators I am working from. And the system is owned by my customer (they own and pay the bills for the whole block if flats)
     
  5. matt1e

    matt1e

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    2,227
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :rolleyes:

    Tell them a wiring diagram will be included with
    a) the valve
    b) the stat

    yes its possible and really easy to achieve

    what sort of valve are you planning on using
    2 port?
    3 port?

    Matt
     
  6. DaleRCL

    DaleRCL

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just one two port valve, I only have one heating zone, no cylinder coil or second zone. Do the wiring diagrams which come with the valve and programmer not have the boiler in the equation? This is the bit I'm unsure of.
     
  7. plumbplumb

    plumbplumb

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    650
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :rolleyes:


    2-port valve wire call from stat/timer to brown on valve
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page