HELP! My Fiat Punto 1.2 1995 is overheating excessively!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi i am a new driver and this is my first car (a bad decision at that) there have been numerous problems with this car and the main one is the overheating. Its got worse the last couple of months. I drive from my house to birkenhead wirral approx (6 miles) and my temperature needle is in the red high and the fan starts to kick in. Its getting really bad so bad that i drove to pensby this morning approx 4 miles and it was over the half way point! i dont know what to do! Ive checked the water and there loads of water so i dont know what the problem is. Can anyone help??? is there an easy solution. if i take it to a garage how much would it cost.

please reply a.s.a.p thanks!

Sponsored Links
What does the water look like? Daft question but does it look like there is oil mixing? Also check the oil filler cap - should be black and not like a myonaise. This would suggest head gasket failure!

However, it could be something as simple as an airlock in the coolant system? Or a faulty thermostat? My guess would be the thermostat at first. Would also be a good idea to do a search for a Fiat forum - there will no doubt be people who have had similar symptoms with the solutions there.
HTH

Dave

water is fine and ive had a service on the car recently so there is new oil and normal colour of oil brown ish! My dad seems to think that the is a blockage too, its just hes not a mechanic and i wanna know how easy it is to fix as i havent got loads of money to spend on it!

I think you should first purchase a workshop manual, then try changing the temperature sender/sensor.If it still reads high do as Dave suggests and change the thermostat followed by bleeding the system.

;)

Sponsored Links