HELP!! Water Damaged Joists

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Hope to get some advice on the following as this is my first time facing the situation.

I’ve moved to a new house and started work on the 1st floor bathroom, only to find the floor is water damaged. Water has escaped through the bath seal and tiles and rotted the floorboards and surface of two joists. I’ve uploaded some photos of the damaged joists. You can access them if you copy paste the below link or click on it. Two damaged joists are marked 1 and 2.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1ZsmOhKuAaOAP1NRSB1DSksY40Ib9pnhf?usp=drive_link

I’ve removed the rotted area using a multi tool, and the remaining wood shown in the photos is solid. The affected area in each joist is about 30 cm wide and 10-20 mm deep. The joist are 8 * 3 (200 x 75 mm) inches.

What’s the solution for this? Do I need the service of Structural Engineer or can a Builder/Joiner fix this? I am more concerned about fulfilling the building regulations and protecting myself from any obligations I have when selling off the property in the future. So I’d like to get the service of professionals rather than DIY.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
I used to lash on clear wood primer and preserver.
Then screw or bolt through timber to the side of damaged joists.
If joist has sagged I have propped up.
When done you can jump up and down on repaird joist.

Looks fine to me. Add timber where necessary

Use a wire brush, it will remove any weakened material. After that, drench with a spirit-based wood preserver (not a fence stain).

The joists are quite large. What is their maximum span between supporting joists?

Use a wire brush, it will remove any weakened material. After that, drench with a spirit-based wood preserver (not a fence stain).

The joists are quite large. What is their maximum span between supporting joists?