Help with central heating/hot water please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. New to the forum but I have seen members have been able to help people with their heating problems and I was hoping someone might be able to help me out similarly. I am a complete novice when it comes to plumbing/central heating so might be missing something really obvious but I will try to explain what the issue is as best I can and hopefully someone might be able to offer some advice.

The system I have is:

Boiler: Remeha Avanta Plus 30S

Timer/controller: Drayton LP522

Hot water thermostat: Potterton PTT2

Central heating thermostat: Potterton PRT2

All of the system was already installed when we bought the house (about a year ago) and it was all working fine until a few months back.

The timer/controller appears to work correctly (i.e. the display shows the time correctly and the little green lights showing whether the hot water or heating is on illuminate according to the programmed timings or when the unit is manually set to “on”) but it does not seem to trigger the thermostats, and therefore the boiler, correctly.

If I want the central heating to come on I need to ensure that the central heating light on the timer/controller is illuminated (i.e. controls are either “on” or set to “timed” and the programme is timed to be on) but the light on the central heating thermostat does not illuminate until I cycle the hot water settings through to “off”. Once I do this, the light on the central heating thermostat comes on and, if the room temperature is below the thermostat setting, the boiler kicks into life.

The reverse is also true (i.e. I cannot get the hot water to come on without manually cycling the central heating settings through to “off”).

I do not have to leave the setting at "off" but can cycle back to "timed" or "on" without then affecting whichever thermostat has kicked in to life.