Help With Vaillant Boiler and Immersion Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey Guys,

Hey Guys,

My folks own a hotel in a remote location, they've just had a new heating system installed which needs to be up and running by Tomorrow night for it opening to the public.

Anyway, the electrician who was contracted (by plumber) to do the wiring has a family emergency so can't get to the job for a few days, so I'm going to do the wiring, I'am a qualified electrician but have zero experience with boilers etc as I'm an industrial electrician.

So I was hoping someone with experience could point me in the right direction?

It's a Vaillant ecoTeEC plus boiler with a programmer. There's also two 600/800 ltr cylinders which are connected, each cylinder has 2 thermostats. There aren't any valves.

Cylinders/thermostats. The cylinders are obviously a backup, but from what I understand the the cylinder thermostats need to control the heating?

Whats the correct wiring for this? do I take each thermostat back to the boiler in to RT 24v?

Do I run a supply to each cylinder? or one supply enough as they're connected?

Any help/guidance appreciated

Sponsored Links
Cylinders and no Valves. How's that plumbed then?

2.5mm cable is usually used to connect to the immersion heater in the bottom. A 16a mcb per cylinder.

Sponsored Links
Any photos? I can't really see how you can have control without valves. Is the plumbing completed? There are several different versions of the Vaillant Ecotec boiler, which model do you have? For a standard system you would only connect to the X1 terminal block.

Last edited:
Any photos? I can't really see how you can have control without valves. Is the plumbing completed?
I don't have photos but I can remember (most) of the connections from boiler.

Yeah plumbing is complete.

All I was told by plumber was there's no motorised valves. The cylinders are obviously just for backup.

He needs the cylinder thermostats fitted to control temp/boiler