Home Network Advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I work in IT but im not really a network person and I don't understand AV stuff like Sky and Free Sat.

We are doing up an old house and we need to urgently start thinking about what cabling will be needed.

Im going to install my server and patch panel and switch into some kind of wall mounded server cabinet with good airflow to keep it cool and dust free.

I also want to get free sat installed as far as im aware one of these will allow me to watch TV in anyroom that has a coaxial F type female connector.

I plan to run 3 Ethernet and 2 coaxial to every room do you think that will be enough?

My dad who is helping me has installed at least one of the below boxes into each room to allow me to install the cables. In the picture it has an electrical cable but this will be removed as i know your arent supposed to have two together.

Do you think it will be big enough?

View media item 78067
I am seeking the advice of a professional but just wanted to post on here for some advice.

Cheers
Paul S

Sponsored Links
Standard Cat5/6 cable is about 5-6mm diameter and PF100 or similar Coax cable is about 6-7mm

From the pic supplied it looks like you have oval not circular conduit and assuming thats 2.5mm T&E cable shown I think it might be too tight, even with 3xNetwork in one conduit and 2xCoax in the other.

Best to grab a couple of scrap bits of coax and network cable and see how they fit in the conduit.

Twin WF65 cable will fit easily (9 x 4.8mm) but bear in mind that it has twice the losses of WF100 so not really suitable for long runs at LNB frequencies. Up to 20m is generally OK for LNB connections and 40m for RF/UHF/VHF.

Sponsored Links
Twin WF65 cable will fit easily (9 x 4.8mm) but bear in mind that it has twice the losses of WF100 so not really suitable for long runs at LNB frequencies. Up to 20m is generally OK for LNB connections and 40m for RF/UHF/VHF.