Home Network/AV layout during Renovation...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, I'm currently undergoing a full DIY house renovation (back to brick) and am in the process of planning out the home ethernet network/AV.

I will be using cat6 UTP cable throughout, and solid copper Coaxial for Sat/Aerial.

This is the plan I've come up with so far and would love any feedback/ideas/advice.

I'm a complete newbie to this but have been researching like a maniac so please excuse any silly mistakes I might need pulling up on..

eRIDn1c.jpg

Thankyou, Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Looks okay. I think your research has paid off. You've provisioned plenty of Ethernet, so that's good. I take it you're planning to run an Octo (8-output) ajnd a Quad (4-output) LNB to service the 10 satellite feed outputs distributed around the house? [Front bedroom 3, Living room 3, Loft 1, Kitchen 1, Side bedroom 1, Back bedroom 1]. I take it you have TVs with a Freesat tuner as well as the recorder boxes in certain rooms? ust an idea, but have you looked at putting in a Quattro LNB with a multi-switch? A 5x16-way multi-switch could combine aerial and the four modes of the LNB feed.

You have Android boxes and a couple of pieces of Sonos spec'd. Do you plan to run a NAS drive for your own music and movie library or do you see yourself relying on streamed content primarily?

Sonos Play1 (or any mains speaker) in a bathroom wouldn't be my first choice. It's a 240V mains powered device and not really designed for steamy or moisture heavy environments. A Connect Amp (either new or used) running in to a decent single point stereo speaker (6.5" kevlar woofer, titanium dome tweeter) would be a more robust solution. House the amp in an adjacent bedroom or the loft. It will cost more but last longer and won't risk killing someone.