Hot Water Booster Pump

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I live in a single floor flat with a standard immersion heater hot water tank. As there is insufficient head between the water tank and the taps/shower the original plumber installed a single impeller hot water pump in order to drive them. The cold water is mains fed throughout. I replaced this pump a few years ago when the bearing wore out but I am now experiencing a different problem and was wondering whether anyone can point me in the right direction for trouble shooting.

Normally when I turn on a hot water tap there is a slight delay and then the pump kicks in, what I am getting now is just a trickle and I can hear the pump humming slightly but it does not kick in. If I wait a while (anything from a minute up to an hour or more) and then try again it will work as normal. To my mind this seems to indicate a problem with the electronics controlling the motor but I am not experienced enough to be sure of this.

I would like to avoid having to replace the entire pump as this will cost my landlord about £200 and when I can save him money it keeps my rent down and keeps him happy.

I am a competent home electrician and a competent home plumber having done my own basic repairs for nearly forty years.

There is no gas supply to the flat block so I do not have to worry about any issues relating to gas.

Thanks in advance for any help that you can give.

Eddie

Sponsored Links
It's either electrical or something in the impeller jamming the pump. If it's electrical there might be a capacitor that's failing or it could be a dicky flow switch

If there's something stuck in it, it'll need stripping down and cleaning out.