1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hotpoint Aquarius 1000 not heating

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by clifford1, 9 Aug 2010.

  1. clifford1

    clifford1

    Joined:
    9 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My washing machine goes through all its cycles apparently normally, but never at any stage heats the water.
    I have tested:
    1) Heater element OK.
    2) Temperature sensor in the base of the drum varies resistance with temperature, and I have tried replacing with another.
    3) Cleaned all contacts and earths
    4) Swapped programmer and circuit board with another I thought was working.

    It does actually draw current for about 10 seconds at the start of the cycle, but not enough to heat the water. Is this likely to be a programmer fault? It seems odd that the other circuit board has exactly the same fault - perhaps it is a commonplace failure?
     
  2. jj4091

    jj4091

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,090
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What voltage do you read on your multimeter at the element terminals? Can you establish which is the live & which is the neutral by measuring to earth & thus identify whether you are loosing the live or neutral to the element when the current switches off.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. clifford1

    clifford1

    Joined:
    9 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, I don't have the equipment to measure the voltage. I just judged that it was, initially, drawing current because the house electricity meter started wizzing round when the heating cycle started, but then slowed down before any warmth was apparent.

    Am I right that the fact that it completes the full cycle regardless of the water not heating shows it can't just be a simple fault like the element failed or a faulty thermostat? Wouldn't the programmer normally need to get a temperature signal before it moved on?
     
  5. rocks1

    rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    6,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,041
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post up the model number.
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page