How do I wire a switch to a PIR light?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a newbie here and am currently trying to wire in a new exterior PIR light but am a little confused as to how to wire in a switch.

There is no existing wiring so I have so far used this very helpful guide
(//www.diynot.com/pages/el/el032.php#a0) to run a new wire from the exterior PIR light to an existing rose that is located on the entrance porch. I put a the live of the new PIR light into the loop of the rose and the neutral of the new PIR light into the two terminal block of the rose.

Now the existing porch rose has a single switch, but to keep things neat and tidy, i intend on changing this switch to a double gang switch and make one of these switches independently control the PIR light. Now the PIR light doesn't have as many terminals as a rose so i'm confused as to how the wires of the switch connect to the PIR light. The PIR light simply has L, N Earth and a LS.

Appreciate if someone can help shed some light into this (no pun intended :))

Sponsored Links
First up, the two-terminal block in a ceiling rose is usually the switched live, not the neutral, so you could have a problem there.

Second, just adding a second switch won't make the light switchable - there has to be a dedicated link between the switch and the light that is being switched.

From the sound of what you've done the best result will be absolutely nothing - worst will be a loud bang and a puff of smoke.

PJ

Thanks for your reply. Sorry I meant its connected to the neutral three terminal block and not the switched live two terminal block. The live wire is then connected to the central loop terminal block (along with the other live wires).

The two terminal block is indeed switched. I haven't turned the power back on at the consumer unit, but believe that the way it is connected at the moment will just power the PIR light directly from the mains. I need to wire in a switch.