how much old plaster to remove

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I'm a complete novice and am mainly going by instinct. Please help.

An internal wall in my warner flat (1894) had a hollow section by the ceiling, it didn't seem like a lot of plaster needed to be removed because most of the wall didn't sound hollow and there are no cracks. However, as soon as I started to take out the hollow bit I realised that all the plaster was coming off easily even where the wall sounds fine. Under the plaster there is a dark grey mud with horse hair. there is no signs of damp and like I say, the wall doesn't sound hollow but the plaster still comes off easily. Shall I leave it and render and skim or take it all off?
hope this makes sense and thank you in advance you guys are amazing! I have read so many posts and have already learnt alot.

Please help, really lost on this one and really can't afford a plasterer.

Thanksmneto

Sponsored Links
We've had every room in the house re-skimmed and i've had a number of walls with blown plaster similar to what you describe.

I always chop it back until i get to plaster that is firmly attached to the wall.

It usually means removing quite a bit of plaster over a much larger area than you first think when you start hacking it away.

If you definately can't afford to replaster then stop removing any more blown plaster.

Whilst not ideal you can force pva behind the blown stuff- just enough to lock it off (hold it in place) on the edges so that you can patch the missing areas.

Don't reskim the walls after, the plaster could well craze and might even make the rest fall off.

Then cross line the walls with lining paper. The plaster will still be blown but it will be happy for years.