How to make 25mm holes in block walls?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm drilling several 25mm holes in concrete block walls for plastic water pipes. Total wall thickness is about 300mm including cavity. I have a 1500W SDS Plus drill. I've never done this before.

I bought a 28x300mm diamond core drill bit and used it in hammer mode as instructed by the man in the shop. I got through five blocks successfully before the cutting segments completely disappeared. I've now read that this type of bit should be used in rotary mode only. Actually I tried that, and it seemed to make no impression on the block at all. At least hammer mode makes a hole - though it takes several minutes to get through a block.

Before I go and buy another one, is this the best tool for the job? I notice TCT core bits are also available. Which is better, TCT or diamond?

And how can I avoid rapidly destroying the bit?

Thanks Phil.

Sponsored Links
if you have a good big drill, an ordinary tct masonry bit (not a core drill) will last much longer. It will be slow in dense concrete, but quick in light blocks.

You can get extension sleeves for larger drills (look out for a threaded shoulder and smaller spigot at the end of the shaft) which works out cheaper than buying several long drills. (this may not be right for SDS+ drils)

You don't use a diamond or TCT hole saws on hammer - they are saws not drill bits. Thats why you have no diamonds left on it :rolleyes:

A good diamond cutter should easily cope with any common concrete block.

A TCT one will too, only it will wear down quicker.

An SDS bit will last the longest, and should do this job a bit faster - no longer than a minute - and you can use hammer

Thanks JohnD and Woody,

So you both think an ordinary SDS masonry hammer bit is the best bet. I didn't realise you could buy these as big as 25mm, but I see screwfix have them about the same price as the core bits. I will get one of these and give it a go!

Phil.

Sponsored Links