Humming in central heating pipes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Complete novice here so apologies for any incorrect terminology etc!

I have a Baxi Bermuda back boiler - I've looked at the piping and the outlet from the boiler directly after the pump seems to split into a circuit for the downstairs radiators and one for upstairs.

Everything was OK until I recently moved a radiator from one wall to another in the bathroom. To do this I drained the system, relocated the radiator (this included having to put in 3 elbows quite close together resulting in what's best described as a tight turn!) and then refilled the system.

The system is working again heat-wise, but now I have an annoying humming noise apparently coming from the central heating pipes and I can feel the vibration in the upstairs radiators. The humming only seems loud in the master bedroom - this is the first room upstairs that the pipes go to from the boiler. The pipes then lead through to the bathroom in which I moved the radiator.

The pump doesn't seem especially noisy, the humming isn't as bad downstairs and doesn't seem as bad in any of the other bedrooms. I've tried turning the speed of the pump down but is doesn't have much effect - I've also bled the pump. Any ideas on what I may have done wrong or what might need replacing?

Sponsored Links
Pump bearing may be getting worn. Use a stick or similar with your ear on one end to probe around.

Can't really locate any particular worn bearing type sound from the pump. In fact when I turn the pump down to it's lowest speed the humming sounds clearer, as though the sound of the pump is drowning out what's really causing the hum.

Is it possible for the boiler itself to hum?

Ignore last post about boiler humming - the sound is only audible when the pump is running so it's not the boiler.