Idea for kitchen worktop, will it work?

As i am not a professional joiner and dont have some of the tools i thought needed like a biscuit jointer etc, i was keen to use these tongue and groove planks, and also as they are the perfect dimensions and wouldnt take much finishing, so i think scaffolding boards might not be as easy for me to use.

Im a bit dissapointed that everyone seems to think using these boards would be so dangerous, I really thought that having them sanded, stained and oiled or varnished, would make them fairly safe - like i said no food should be prepared directly on the surface anyway and certaianly no chopping, and if the chemicals are as dangerous as you make out it makes me worried about anyone with wooden floors who have children or pets...

If i forget oil and use a couple of coats of matte varnish maybe even yacht varnish or something fairly robust, would this sway anyone into thinking im not going to poison everyone by using these as a worktop?

I have to respect your expertise and take your advice and avoid this now, unless anyone wants to step up and put my mind at ease?

Sponsored Links
Can we rewind, and establish what these "old style treated floorboards" are?

Are they:

Old reclaimed boards (would most likely have nail holes)
New boards, resawn from old beams
Completely new boards

?

I'm far from an expert, but wouldn't expect to see woodworm treatment on completely new boards. You use woodworm treatment where you have woodworm.

Cheers
Richard

I've seen and used protomised t&g and reclaimed boards retro treated with both water and oil based products . Treating for both woodworm and for fire retardant is less common in my experience but that's not to say it can't or isn't done.
I'd agree with Richard , have a word with the suppliers to see what has been done with the boards. They should by law have a product data sheet for anything used.