Immersion Heater/Economy 7 (replaced but still trips)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We had a new cylinder installed just over a year ago and water has been heating up overnight (using economy 7) fine until a few days ago when this no longer happens. We've had the element replaced by a plumber and as he said that no power was getting through so an electrician took a look and confirmed there was power getting to the element but that it was tripping out the fuse and that it's the element/heater at fault. Am now confused as to what the problem is and who I need to get to fix it? Electrician or plumber? We've looked for the Economy 7 timer but can't find one as the wires go straight to switches so gather we don't have on and it's automatic (switches have always been left on). Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Electrician checked everything like that (I'm not good with the technical stuff) and just said that it's the point where heater/element that's tripping the switch (which he had replaced). The fuse box itself doesn't show any signs of being tripped (as in there is no fuse switch needing to be reset).

my next thought would be, did the electrician verify that the wires into the immersion element head were correctly connected? No spare whiskers of wire?

He could also have tested the resistance across the immersion heater terminals to confirm (he might have already done that)

What do you know about the qualifications of the electrician? Does he have trade associations and memberships shown on his card and invoice? What are they? How long did he take, and what did he charge?

Most often, the sheathing on an immersion heater fails with age, and cracks, allowing water inside. It is not impossible that your plumber damaged the element putting it in (although in the past I have seen plumbers bend them to shape and they still work :eek: ) or it might possibly have been a faulty one, but this is very unlikely.