Immersion heater problem..new circuit?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by xr4x4, 10 Jan 2011.

  1. xr4x4

    xr4x4

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,159
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all,

    Quick question if i may...

    Just been round to customers house, whose got no hot water from her vented hot water cylinder, top immersion.

    Stats ok, but theres no power at the FCU, looks like shes on economy 7 as has two separate CU's for immersion and night storage heaters...which are working.

    So i found the old unused FCU connected to the main CU and temp wired the immersion into that, this tripped the RCD, twice to be sure, so immersions blown...thinking about it, that prob wasnt the best way to test it...!

    So will replace the immersion and connect it up as it was and wait and see if the economy 7 kicks in and heats it up.

    Now if it doesnt, the customer is happy to bypass the Eco 7 and wire the immerison into the main CU via the old FCU i mentioned. As she hardly ever uses the hot water, lives on own 2 bed flat, elec shower.

    The wiring into the old FCU in not happy with and has damaged taped wires, so i suggested would have to run new cable to CU, which would be easy.. can i do this, i know i am more than capable but is it legal?

    Also im a bit confused why the 16a MCB didnt trip for the immersion when its blown? She said she didnt touch it? Unless it was a netural earth fault as the org immersion CU doesnt have a RCD.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ricicle

    ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,343
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you a competant electrician with adequate PLI ?
    I know you can replace damaged cables but not sure if that extends to circuits right from the CU.
    Must be an earth fault due to RCD operating. Do you possess an IR tester, this should confirm a fault ?
    Does the whole installation switch over to E7 or is it just the off-peak board ?
     
  4. xr4x4

    xr4x4

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,159
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think im competent but have no paperwork qualifications. I dont want to do anything illegal and told the customer that and said i would check.

    Im not sure on the E7 switch over as i couldnt get into the meter cupboard outside, as she didnt have a key (shared cupboard).

    I think its just the E7 as the other two CU's where dead @ 7pm when i was there.

    If someone could let me know if i can replace this circuit, that would be great.

    Thanks.
     
  5. ricicle

    ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,343
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have the PLI that will cover you for electrical work and could you prove your competance if something went wrong ?
     
  6. xr4x4

    xr4x4

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,159
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope.... and how would i do that.. but prob no...!
     
  7. xr4x4

    xr4x4

    Joined:
    1 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,159
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...or.... find the cable in the loft, cut it and use a jun box and run the cable surface mount down into the airing cupboard into FCU?
     
  8. ricicle

    ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,343
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then my advice would be to steer clear.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page