Immersion Heater Timer Not Working - Horstmann Electronic 7

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am quite new to this but need some advice. I live in flat which only uses electricity (Economy 7) and uses an immersion water heater with two elements (top and bottom) to heat water. I have a Horstmann Electronic 7 Water Heater installed which is configured to run an off peak programme between 3am to 7am (Economy 7 off peak times).

I want the water heater to only heat the water during those hours and remain off during the rest of the hours. However, I can hear the elements heating the water constantly and therefore using more electricity.

The timer has two wires coming out of it, one for the top element and one for the bottom element. When the timer is switched to timed, using an electric tester pen I can only see power going to the top element. Why is this?

Is the water heater wiring installed correctly?
Why does it heat during the day?

I have attached images of the following:
1. The water heater specification
2. The wiring coming out from the water heater (2 wires which connect to the top element and bottom element)
3. The wiring of each element (top and bottom)
4. The wiring within the timer

Appreciate any help

Water Heater Specification
upload_2022-4-4_10-39-30.png

Wiring coming to the water heater from timer
upload_2022-4-4_10-40-25.png

Associated colour diagram
upload_2022-4-4_10-41-48.png

Top Heating Element Wiring
upload_2022-4-4_10-40-40.png

Bottom Element Wiring

upload_2022-4-4_10-41-1.png

Timer

upload_2022-4-4_10-45-44.png

Timer Wiring
upload_2022-4-4_10-41-23.png

upload_2022-4-4_10-41-30.png

Sponsored Links
That bottom element has scorching around it, any ideas why? There also appears to be heat damage at the terminal strip. The photo of the Horstmann is no good as this is just a copy from the internet, we need to see yours. You live in a flat, do you have a landlord?