1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing a Security Camera

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Dundee_Stokie, 7 Oct 2020.

  1. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I purchased this small motion sensor camera....with the intention of catching a serial offending dog walker and his lawn fouling dog.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07V4CLWVT/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    However, I was wondering if I could install it under the soffits and somehow down into the wall where the nearest outlet plug is....I have thought about just screwing it into the soffits and clipping the cable to go through the window (cable is only thin), but could look untidy.

    Would this be easy enough to get under them and somehow done into the wall to be plugged in from the inside?

     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    69,725
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    In your loft you will find cables, possibly for sockets but certainly for the lighting circuit. You can run a socket from here.

    If you use the lighting circuit, label the socket prominently "Maximum Load 5Amps" "Lighting Circuit."
     
  4. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How easy is it to run the wire through the soffit and into the loft?
     
  5. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    69,725
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    look down from the loft. Can you see between the eaves, and look down at the soffit? If so, just drill a hole
     
  6. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like follow this route yeah ?

     
  7. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, then how do you get the wire (once you've drilled and poked the wire through the soffit hole from the underneath) into the loft?
    Imagine Im now outside my house, drilled hole, pushed my wire through....

    Now said wire is sitting on the inside of the soffit, is it reachable from the loft? or is it just a case of trying to grab it with a retractable draw tape ?
     
  8. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,713
    Thanks Received:
    328
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Drill hole big enough for cable module 25mm.
    Tape cable onto wire coat hanger and push up onto loft,use another wire coat hanger with bent hook on end to reach to loft void to get cable.
    Are you using pre made extension wires?,If so may be earlier to push up onto loft and connect camera onto them once cables are in postion.The pre made cable on camera may not be long enough to come out soffit void.
     
  9. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,086
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For some reason didn't post my response earlier(depends on access and length of cable being used).

    How long are the supplied cables.

    camera to end of fly lead, power supply to camera, power supply to plug?

    It may be easier to buy a extension power cord of say 5M thread this between the loft and the cameras connection and connect the other end to the supplied power pack, giving you a little more flexibility.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The power cable is 1.5m
     
  12. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,086
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is that the fly lead from the camera?

    What about the 12V power supply?
     
  13. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depending on the age of the house, some soffit boards are asbestos sheet and best not drilled. Post 1970's should be safe.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The power cord is just under 3m in length.

    This is my plan - run an extension cable from the camera point in the loft through the ceiling and into a fitted wardrobe in one of the bedrooms, feed the cable down the wall and into the nearest socket.
     
  15. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,086
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you used something like this https://www.amazon.co.uk/Smedz-10M-...f=sr_1_9?dchild=1&keywords=dc+12v+power+cable

    between the camera and the power supply you may find it easier, and just plug one end to camera and other to the power lead?

    It will also make it easier if you want to disconnect it to swap it or move it later.

    I don't know how far to your sockets is, but if at the bottom of your inside wall, it could be 2.5M plus unless they are low ceilings from ceiling to socket, plus the wall to the sofit etc whilst it will reach could be a little tight at times.
     
  16. Dundee_Stokie

    Dundee_Stokie

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Angus
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does that cable connect onto these ends?


    Actually, rather than feed down and disrupt a bedroom, I may as well feed it across the loft and down into the garage to the socket there, no issues with aesthetics and dangling cables in there! I will need circa 20m of length I reckon.
     
  17. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    5,086
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can buy re made or make some yourself, but if you check ot has both ends when purchasing like in above link then you be fine, think they did a 20M one also.
     
Loading...

Share This Page