Installing new sockets - earth wires

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

First post so please be gentle!
I have very little electrical experience aside from high school physics (I'm a doctor) and I'm replacing our upstairs white double sockets with chrome faced LAP ones. I've switched off the sockets at the fuse box and have a voltage detector device.

On removing the old boxes, I can see that the two live, two neutral and two earth wires are paired together and attach to the L, N and E positions on the sockets respectively. However in the new sockets, there are two seperate E connections, one at either top corner. How do I deal with this? Do I have to peel back the incoming wires to get extra length needed to attach earth wires to each corner? Does it matter which earth wire goes to which corner? Do I need to have the earth wires covered completely with the green/yellow insulation cover? Do I need to get a qualified electrician to approve the work? Obviously don't want to endanger my family. Thanks

Sponsored Links
You can use either or both earth connections. They will be connected together in the socket anyway. So it's fine to put both earth wires into one of the connections.

I assume that this means the other questions are not relevant. But the earth wire should be as covered with sleeving as possible, so it does not touch up against one of the other connectors.

You do not need an electrician for this unless you suspect that you are not certain what you are doing.

In the circumstances, you might buy a socket checker from a diy shop which you can use to confirm that you have connected everything up right.

Welcome!

However in the new sockets, there are two seperate E connections, one at either top corner. How do I deal with this? Do I have to peel back the incoming wires to get extra length needed to attach earth wires to each corner?