Socket Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I have uncovered a surprise socket when I have removed cupboard from bedroom.
The socket is working but the wiring looks amateur to me.I am not an electrician. There is a surprise single socket and a double next to it.
The are single wires going to L,N,E on both plugs. This all looks fine but the earth wire is earthed at the two socket for the single socket and the wire is 2 joined lengths with red insulation on part of one of the lengths. In addition the wires going into the double socket look as if they were doubles in the sense there was an extra L,N,E going n at one time.
It looks like wires running into the double sockets have been cut and run to the single socket.
So having had trawl around web my question is can you do this with a ring circuit?. I am thinking the change of wiring has created spur from ring? Clearly the earth wire running from the single socket into the double (where it is earthed to wire coming through bottom of gang) needs sorting but is it required at all?
Sorry if this is confusing - I can post pictures if wanted.
Thanks for your time and help.

Sponsored Links
The ring is not always the system used in wiring a house. To work out what you have will need some form of inspecting and testing. The radial circuit can originate from a 32A, 20A or 13A fuse and it is the fuse size and wire type that tells us if it's allowed or not.
Pictures may show how connected but not size of cable. There are 3 common sizes. 1.5mm is normally from a fused spur and limited as a result to 13A. 2.5mm is the most common and could be from a 20A MCB, and 13A FCU or a unfused single outlet from a ring or part of a ring.
4mm can be from a 32A radial circuit.