Intermittent Potterton? Flashing red LED? PCB Fault finding

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Potteron Suprima 100
PCB 5102160

Firstly many thanks to those offering solutions to the infamous Potterton PCB failure - mine is now fixed, although I will confirm after a week or so. However I wanted to contribute in return and show a few interesting pictures I took recently.

BTW - my background:

I'm a Electronic Design Engineer with over 15 years experience including full product life-cycle. I'm experienced in CE marking regulation and a variety of safety standards and thought some other maybe interested in my findings too - especially the close up of solder joints.

I have concerns not only with the poor quality solder joints exhibited by elder PCBs, but also the safety implications of this coupled with the lack of sufficient earthing found on the right hand panel, however I'll comment on my findings from a design point of view first.

1. Poor quality solder joints

These develop over the first three years and on my PCB look like this:

Joint1.jpg

Fig 1.1 - example 1

Joint2.jpg

Fig 1.2 - example 2

Joint3.jpg

Fig 1.3 - example 3

A sample of poor joints were found predominately in these areas:

PCB%20rear.jpg

Fig 1.4 - general area of poor joints

1.1 Defective joint areas

After careful inspection I discovered around 15 defective joints on predominately the larger plated through hole (PTH) components, ie. connectors, relays and the larger black diodes. The evidence points to the failure mode being a combination of poor wave soldering and significant thermal cycling. Thermal cycling would explain why some see exacerbated problems when the PCB is cold.

PCB%20front.jpg

Fig 1.5 - defective joint areas

2. Carbon deposit